Uneasiness.

Yes, that’s what I felt. Today I went to my  university in Bari for a lesson at 8.30 a.m. Then, I went to the library because I had to study for my exam…English Culture…Shakespeare…The Merchant of Venice…and so on. But what I wanted to do was to try it…my “new” Asahi Pentax K1000 SLR camera. So I went out of the library and left the books there. I put the battery into the camera and went around the city to shoot something. Walking around the old town, I saw a cat. Well, it was a perfect subject for my first pic. So I took the camera, set the time of exposure, looked in the viewfinder, set the aperture keeping an eye on the so-vintage needle of the exposimeter, focused on the subject and then…click! Trrrrrrrrrrrr…this was the sound of the rapid-wind lever. After the shot I felt so good hearing that vintage sounds but then…the weird thing. No LCD on the camera. In the digital era we’re living in, that is so strange…I felt uneasy. It was like I just clicked a button but without taking any photograph…because I couldn’t see it. But then, I felt more and more excited…what my photos would have been like after developing the film? The analogic photography is not that immediate…you have to wait. And that is, I think, magic.

Leave a Reply

